Cured, what!? Really!?!

October 22, 2012 § 2 Comments

I am beyond thrilled today. Like happy dancing and smiling kind of happy!! I saw my oncologist this morning for my recent PET scan results and she shared with hubby and I that I am officially CURED. I was actually in shock to hear this, considering I haven’t even heard a doc throw that word around in YEARS. The look on my face must have been priceless..

So what does cured mean(this is for lymphoma patients..not all)?

  • No active cancer in 5 years..(I have had some funny stuff going on on the right side of my neck for about 4 of the past 6 years..so the fact that I no longer have anything of mention there is HUGE! – more to come on that later..)

 

For me that =’s

  • NO MORE PET SCANS!!!! YAY!!
  • I only have to see my oncologist 1 a year, unless I find something funny (lump, bump ..etc)

 

Since I was diagnosed in early November of 2006 the fall has always been a time of uncertainty and anxiety. It just brings back icky memories and feelings.  I often thought to myself, “fall sucks, I hate fall, bad things happen in the fall.”  I’m pretty aware that this isn’t a good way to categorize a whole season..however being rational is easier said than done.  I’ve been working hard to do fun, happy things in the fall to combat this whole “stigma” in my mind. This year I’ve been making a pretty consistent effort to enjoy it. It really is a beautiful time of year! We have been apple picking, pumpkin patching it up and even hiking.

I knew I was going to be anxious going into todays Doctor’s appointment so the hubby and I planned to get away and outside yesterday to clear our heads. We decided to make our first trek to Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. It was a beautiful day! We brought our pup, Chaz and hiked almost 8 miles. During that hike we chatted, laughed and groaned at how hard it was. There were also many quiet moments where I just enjoyed breathing fresh air and meditating as my feet hit the ground. I just really enjoyed every moment of being in the woods with my loves and  the awesome autumn colors. Here’s a photo from the Maryland Heights overlook..(that’s Harpers Ferry from up above!)

 

 

I’m so glad that we were able to do the hiking yesterday.. it was exactly what I needed going in to this mornings appointment. It is so wonderful to finally feel at peace with my body. It’s been a long 6 years of dealing with this cancer diagnosis.

Finding peace has taken quite a long time, but boy does it feel good to be here.

It’s a FABULOUS day. It gives me so much hope that we are in a world where we can cure cancer and fight it effectively. I am feeling even more passionate about the work I get to do every day now! Thanks to my husband, Mom, Dad, Bec, Nana, best friends and countless aunts, uncles, cousins and friends who have supported me always..oh and puppies too!! I’d be lost without you..

<3xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

§ 2 Responses to Cured, what!? Really!?!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cured, what!? Really!?! at Livingstronger.

meta

