Blessed

October 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

I am so grateful to all of you for your virtual support. I also thank you for the texts, calls and hugs. The amount of support I received yesterday and still today after I shared my great news was completely overwhelming. It’s funny– I almost didn’t even put this up on the blog..but something in me told me to go ahead and do it. I am so glad that I did.  Here’s a screen shot of the link I posted on FB.

Now that is a LOT of likes and comments. I heard from people I haven’t spoken to in years. The support and love shown to me really reminded me of how blessed I am. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I like to tell my story because I think awareness is very important in the fight against cancer. It’s hard for people my age (20’s) to think that they can have cancer. It happens, too often. I was a 21-year-old college senior who was working 2 jobs, going to school full-time and had just completed a triatholon 2 weeks before my stage III hodgkin’s lyphoma diagnosis. I thought I just had gall stones, not a 10cm malignant lymph node floating in my abdomen. Not two other malignant lypmh nodes in my body. But it happened, I was diagnosed with cancer. It sucked..but I survived. I was so lucky to have an amazing medical team who treated and have now cured me.

I wish it was this way with every cancer. It’s not..I’ve lost so many people since I was diagnosed and started working/advocating for cancer survivors and their families. I wish RJ and Pam, Leanna and Sam had heard the words cure.  In this world of cancer survivorship there is this thing called survivors guilt. While I am elated and ecstatic to share the news of my “clean” bill of health after 6 long years..I feel guilty that friends have died and friends and family of my loved ones haven’t survived.

Dealing with this guilt isn’t something that goes away, at least it hasn’t for me. It’s a lot of the reason I have chosen to work in the field of cancer..fundraising and advocacy. It’s my way of giving back. So I share these personal triumphs to inspire people that there is HOPE and that you can beat cancer but that we need to continue to research and raise $$ to support those who are struggling with these diagnoses.

Off my soap box now..:) Thanks again for all of your kind words and love, I am lucky, lucky girl.

XOXO

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blessed at Livingstronger.

meta

