Day 2

January 4, 2013 § Leave a comment

We made it through Day 1 and are stumbling through Day 2. …

I made these delicious mini-frittata’s this morning for breakfast and they were a big hit with the hubs.

Kale/Mushroom/Onion/Bacon Frittatta

5-6 pieces of green kale (de-stem)

1/4 of a sweet onion

1/4 cup of shitake mushrooms

2 slices nitrate free organic bacon

olive oil (1-2tbs)

coconut oil for greasing the muffin tins

 

I cooked the bacon, then added right in the onions, mushrooms and kale. Seasoned with salt and pepper. Mushrooms soak up fat so I had to add a bit of oil to prevent burning. Then I oiled the muffin tins with the coconut oil and added the veggie/meat mixture. Scrambled 4 eggs with a fork and poured over the veg/meat mixture until 3/4 full.

Baked for 15-17 minutes at 350 degrees f. This made 6 mini frittatas! (we each ate 3)

 

DELISH …wish I took a picture! I’m going to make them again tomorrow and promise to upload a photo.

The biggest challenge for me right now is coffee. I never knew I could miss my one cup of starbucks with coconut hazelnut creamer SO MUCH. I had a cup of green tea this morning and kombucha with lunch..but need to drink more water. I’m sure that would help some with these kicking caffeine headache.

For lunch I had a salad with peas and green onions, evoo and balsamic,also had some baked plantains and a chicken thigh.

Snack: organic, grass-fed beef jerky

Dinner: Making burgers, left over squash and brussel sprouts (roasted)

Hubs is doing really well. I love that when I get home from work and walking our pup he’s all like, “when is dinner going to be ready?!’. (he NEVER asks this)…then he continued to talk about deprivation. I kindly reminded him that it was the first day and he hadn’t had much different than his normal day. Minus a yogurt and protein bar and add bacon and eggs. Minus a little slice of bread with his salad…drama king ;).

Tonight I go back to crossfit for the first time in a week..so fingers crossed!!

YAY WHOLE 30..28 to go!

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 2 at Livingstronger.

meta

