First whole30 weekend

January 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

Well I’ve made it through day 5. Hubs unfortunately didn’t make it through day 3.. he was having strange esophageal pain that really turned him off. I’m not sure if it was related to the changes in his diet or coincidence. Sadly he opted for grilled cheese as his big cheat. Since then he’s been mostly back on course and is graciously eating all my foods with me..so his support is much appreciated. Maybe I can get him to join on the next whole30. 

Day 2& 3 were miserable. I was HUNG OVER. I was shocked by how terrible I felt given that I am already gluten and dairy free. Further confirmation that gluten free treats are just that, treats. I over did it over the holidays with gf bread, rolls, cakes and cookies. I PAID for it on day 2& 3. I had migraines and zero energy. I did my first WOD on day 3 and it was horrible. I kept feeling like I was going to faint. I wasn’t even able to push myself which pissed me off big time! I am very competitive with myself and hate not pushing myself..so I was not in a great mood. Luckily waking up on day 4, Saturday morning I felt like myself. I had energy and a personality again…YAY!! I was able to push myself through a tough WOD…all kettle bells 5 rounds of sdhp’s, swings, goblin squats and snatch. (20 each) The time cap was 30 minutes and I thankfully finished in 29:02.. phew! 

Sunday (day 5) has gone relatively easy and I even ate my first meal out while on this challenge. I had breakfast with my oldest friend…she was kind and agreed to brunch at an awesome restaurant here in DC called Busboys & Poets. I had a western omelet and fruit with some green tea. It was so yummy! It was great to get out of the house, eat and be social! We watched the Redskins game with our neighbors and I brought down some SUPER DELISH wings and sweet potato fries. I got the recipe for the wings out of my Practical Paleo cook book that I love. They had a smoky dry rub..everybody loved them. 🙂

Overall it was a wonderful weekend. I was able to coast through food wise, WOD, see friends and spend good time with my hubby. Lucky lady, I am!!!

 

Here’s the wing recipe (tweaked by me!!) in case you are interested:

2lb chicken wings cut at the joint

EVOO or coconut oil

2 tbs sea salt

1/2 tbs black pepper

1 tbs smoked hungarian paprika

2 tbs chilli powder

1 tbs dry mustard 

1 tbs lemon pepper seasoning

1/2 tb cinnamon

preheat over to 400 degrees f

toss your wings in your oil of choice, now toss in the seasoning– making sure each wing is coated in this delish yummyness. 

Line your baking tray or pans with aluminum foil and seperate out the wings

Bake for 20 minutes and then flip the wings, cook for another 10-15 minutes until they reach 160 degrees.

 

A great dipping sauce:

1/4 cup homemade mayo

1/2 avocado

6 cloves roasted garlic

juice of 1/2 lemon 

salt and pepper

whisk together!

 

Enjoy. XO

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First whole30 weekend at Livingstronger.

meta

