A struggle..

January 19, 2013 § 4 Comments

Today is day 17 of my whole 30. I have to say..this hasn’t been too difficult. After dealing with the initial coffee and coconut hazlenut cream cravings I’ve been flying through the days feeling really good. So this post isn’t about a struggle with the challenge..the challenge has been great!

Struggle. I think this is a nice way to put what I am currently feeling. Food allergies have taken over my life..I’ve gone from a gluten allergy to gluten,dairy, msg, sulfites, celery and now it appears possibly nightshade vegetables and maybe eggs? It’s been a hivey week that has left me about to pull my hair out while trying to pin point what’s causing these outbreaks. I have seen an allergist in DC, my general practitioner and my oncologist here in DC and all recommended a diet free from these allergens. Honestly I don’t feel confident in any of their treatments for me..other than my ND. She is awesome and it’s my fault for not seeing her as much as I should. (This is because of $$..she’s not covered by insurance..boo!!) But given this lack of DR support/following everytime I get a bad reaction, which means to me hives on my head, face, neck and body..I have been having bad panic attacks.

I’m trying my best to keep my focus on just getting through each day and doing what I know is best for my body..eating paleo and crossfitting. But I need answers.. from all of the reading I’ve done by various eastern & western docs it seems to me I have leaky gut. My guess is that I was already prone to leaky gut based on a lifetime of digestive issues but that it was worsened by chemo and immunetherapy. I hope i’m right. If I am there is hope that my body can heal.

My oncologist was kind of enough to recommend an allergist in Manhattan at Mt. Sinai who specialized in “escalating food allergies” which appears to be what I’m facing. I decided a few weeks ago it was time to go see this person. If I don’t get the answers there I plan to go back to see Dr. Fasano (leading celiac & gluten & all things leaky gut). I saw him last spring when I was only dealing with gluten allergies..he quickly dismissed thoughts that it could be celiacs and told me it sounded like sensitivity.

Sorry for the details but it’s good to express through writing. So yes I am struggling. Trying to keep my head up and not feel defeated by food. It’s horrible to live in a world where food that’s supposed to sustain you instead hurts you. GRHHHH!!

One of my oldest and best friends shared with me this week that I inspire her. That despite everything I’ve been dealt that my determination always shines through. Thank you Val. I needed to be reminded of that this week.

 

Love to you all!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to A struggle..

  • Bob says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your struggles! I hope you find some answers coming up, but your attitude and outlook seems positive! You’ll be in my thoughts – I look forward to hearing how things go.

  • Sarah D. says:

    Thanks Bob! I really appreciate the support. 🙂

  • Tiffany Bloomingdale says:

    Val’s so wonderful! And correct! 🙂

    Oh shitpickles… 😉

    Love you!!!

  • Barb Delaney says:

    Val is a good friend and insightful. You continue to amaze me and all of us that are lucky enough to know you. Keep that head up and those positive thoughts flowing…. you are in charge of your thoughts and they can do a whole lot to help heal your body.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A struggle.. at Livingstronger.

meta

